Theatre Plays Two

By Trevor Griffiths
September 2007
Distributed by Coronet Books
ISBN: 9780851247212
266 pages, 5 7/8" x 8 1/4"
$45.00 Paper Original

Plays in Two: Oi for England | Real Dreams | Piano | The Gulf between Us | Thatcher’s Children | Who shall be Happy … ? | Camel Station

Trevor Griffiths was born and educated in Manchester and has been writing for theatre, television and cinema since the late 1960s. 

The first volume of his collected theatre plays covers the period 1969 to 1980.

Volume two contains the plays written between 1981 and 2001.

His extensive work for the screen includes three major television series – Bill Brand, Sons and Lovers, and The Last Place on Earth; numerous single plays including All Good Men and Through the Night, and television films Country and Food for Ravens.  Many of his stage plays have also been produced on television.

For his film Reds, written with Warren Beatty, he received the Writers Guild of America Best Screenplay award and an Oscar nomination.  Other films have included Country, directed by Richard Eyre, and Fatherland, directed by Ken Loach. 

From the 1980s onwards he has also directed his own work both in theatre and on film.  Food for Ravens, which he wrote and directed for BBC Wales, won both a Royal Television Society award and a Welsh BAFTA.

In 1982 Trevor Griffiths was given the BAFTA Writers Award.

Theatre Plays One


Return to Coronet Books main page